Overcoming obstacles with Optimism

Surgery & Stroke Recovery

Surgery & Stroke Recovery

A little over ten and a half years ago a stroke took away my eyesight and left me numb on the left side of my body.  I was unable to walk without assistance from therapists and assistive devices.  My left arm was paralyzed.  Due to this stroke, my speech was slurred.  My ability to hear was so sensitive it was too painful to listen to anything.  Some issues resolved quickly.  Some limitations took years to resolve.  I still have a limp.  I still have missing eyesight and balance issues from which I will never fully recover.  I still fall down easily.  Yet, I never stop trying to rediscover my old abilities.  I’ve never been bitter about the challenges of this stroke.  I have peace living with my new “normal”. 

Finish Line For Coronado Bay Bridge Walk

4 Years after stroke – 4 Miles walk

Strokes don’t discriminate.  My stroke happened during an operation when I was twenty-seven.  Many other strokes hit people while they are going about their daily living activities.  Strokes take over brains of elderly and babies, male and female.  Know how to spot a stroke and realize you have the ability to help save a life.

 

From American Heart Association: Spot a Stroke F.A.S.T.

Face

Arm

Speech

Time

 

Face Drooping

Ask the person to smile.

Does one side of the face droop?

 

Arm Weakness

Ask the person to raise both arms.

Does one arm drift downward?

 

Speech Difficulty

Ask the person to repeat a simple phrase.

Is their speech slurred or strange?

 

Time to Call 9-1-1

If the person shows any of these symptoms, even if the symptoms go away, call 9-1-1 and get them to the hospital.

Comments on: "World Stroke Day 2013" (2)

  1. You are such an inspiration! Thank you for sharing your story and for leading me here with your comment on my post. Wishing you good luck on your journey towards rediscovery. Take care and God bless 🙂

Thanks for taking time to share your thoughts