Overcoming obstacles with Optimism

Who Are You?

So, please, tell me about yourself. Don’t think about it. Don’t formulate a long, trying-to-impress, response. What is your reaction to that answer which immediately pops into your head?

 

I was asked this question several years ago by a participant in one of my presentations. But then he also added, “How has this answer changed since your brain injury?” It made me think about it for the first time. How do I define myself? What was I like compared to the years before I had my stroke?

 

We evolve. It is logical. We will always evolve. That is life. But who are you today? What is it –what passion, what occupation, what hobby – what is it that defines who you are?

 

 

Is the answer to this questioning what you what it to be? If not, how can you grow into the person you foresee in your future? Defining who we are will certainly evolve over time. Sometimes we will lose the titles we have once bestowed upon ourselves. Press forward, work toward fulfilling your dreams. You have the power to create the person you dream of telling others about.

 

 

“I may not have gone where I intended to go,

but I think I have ended up where I intended to be.”   

-Douglas Adams

Comments on: "Who Are You?" (4)

  1. I really like that quote. I think it defines my life at the moment

  2. oc1dean said:

    I am an arrogant bastard, always looking to make things better. Friends are always probing for contradictions in my statements, keeping me on my toes.

    • Dean, you are also a great educator and a kind man who has offered hope and guidance to many readers. I, one of many I am sure, will remain grateful for the information you share.

      I hope you are having a peaceful summer!

      Tara

Thanks for taking time to share your thoughts

Tag Cloud

