Overcoming obstacles with Optimism

 

           Facebook can cause a lot of confusion for someone who cannot recognize faces.  One lady recently asked me to friend her.  There were hundreds of women with her same name.  The next day I went back and told her I couldn’t find her.  She said, “Just find me by my picture.”   I responded, “Umm…Remember?  I am face blind.”  We had a good laugh. 

Realistically, it is an impossible challenge for me.  I can look someone up by their name but have no ability to recognize the face on a profile picture.  With prosopagnosia, I cannot identify a person a second later let alone when I get home and look up a name in the Facebook search. 

To make it easier to connect using social media, I have set up a new Facebook page.  At https://www.facebook.com/FindingStrengthToStandAgain, I will have a more successful opportunity to continue conversations with everyone I have met through blogging and the wonderful participants who have taken time out of their busy schedules to listen to me speak at various venues.  I will share every day, random thoughts.  These thoughts, on remembering simple joys and gifts of life, will be a quick read with couple of lines rather than a full page.  Facebook has been a great way for me to stay connected to friends all over the world.  I look forward to now reading more about you and hearing your thoughts on this new connection.  Come join me.

Comments on: "Do You “Like” Me?" (8)

  1. Hello Tara, I liked your Facebook page after reading today’s blog. I appreciate the message you have to share. My daughter who for all we knew had only experience petit mal seizures. That was until one Sunday afternoon when she had a massive seizure that led to a prolonged coma. We lost her six weeks earlier.An hour or two before this seizure we found her on face down on the floor, head raised looking dazed. We tried to encourage her to go straight to the emergency room but she chose not to. If I knew then what I know now, she would have gone, no ifs ands or buts.
    I have a post on my blog that summarized that experience but I think your message might go a long way to educate others who are at risk. Thank you.

    • Rich, I am so, so sorry about your daughter. Could you please put a link to that post in a reply here? I think that is an important lesson everyone should take time to understand.

      Thank you for stopping and saying hello. I love hearing your wisdom.

      Warm Regards,
      Tara

  2. I absolutely hate Facebook, it depresses me. If I still had a Facebook I would most definitely like you!!!!

  3. I still haven’t opened a Facebook account. I see the attraction of it, but fear about my time management. I’m glad you have been able to connect with people.

    • I started a Facebook account years ago. We’re a military family, so my friends spread out all around the world. It is much easier to post a short message rather than trying to time the calls just right half way around the world.

      Thanks for stopping by and saying hi.

      Tara

  4. Face blindness is octopus-like, then. It has tentacles most of us have never thought of, that Facebook photo ID business being one more.
    I’m off to check out your FB page right now, Tara.

    • Like an “octopus”. What a brilliant way to look at, and describe, this condition. I am going to have to pass that along to others with face-blindness. I think it may help some people explain how many ways prosopagnosia touches a life. Judith, thank you so much for offering this brilliant new visual/literal aid. As always, I think you are absolutely wonderful!

      Tara

Thanks for taking time to share your thoughts

Tag Cloud

