Overcoming obstacles with Optimism

Keeping It Real

bruised but not broken

           Ten years after my stroke and I still fall down.  In this picture, you can see I even get hurt sometimes.  I average about one major fall every six months or so.  These stumbles are common for me.  I either do not see something or my left leg suddenly does not work to help keep me moving forward.

            Walking occasionally still causes problems but so does not recognizing faces.  I walk into a crowded room where I know I should recognize some familiar faces.  Because of prosopagnosia, I sometimes do get lonely.  Even in a room of friends I can feel as if I am all alone surrounded by strangers I don’t recognize.

            Life is not always pretty.  I won’t try to paint an unrealistic picture of only hope and perfection.  There are still times I have to face the hard reality of stroke recovery and the repercussions that come with a brain injury.  I’ve come to accept in this survivor’s journey there are bound to be intermittent setbacks.

            But, I will make sure you always know this:  I fall; I make a choice to get back up.  I get discouraged sometimes during a long day.  I am realistic in my remaining shortcomings.  Yet, each night when my head hits the pillow, I know I have completely succeeded in one more day of living a life well lived.  After family prayers were said the night of this latest injury, I continued on my own, “Thank you.  Thank you for such a wonderful life.”

            I fall down.  I will always get back up.

 

“You learn you can do your best even when it’s hard, even when you’re tired and maybe hurting a little bit.  It feels good to show some courage.”  Joe Namath

Comments on: "Keeping It Real" (14)

  1. It’s OK to be angry and in a bad mood and get discouraged. Those things have to happen to allow the positive attitude that you have.

    • I’ve learned that through most of life’s traumatic events, we process through Elisabeth Kubler-Ross’s Stages of Grief. I think it is important everyone recognizes this. I’ve read so much lately about the curiosity of this frustration being normal or not. I want people to realize that, yes, yes it is completely normal.

      It’s always good to have you stop by Amy! Thanks for being here. 🙂

      Tara

  2. Tara – I love how you are so honest and real! You have bad days, yet you pick up and persevere. You encourage us all to do the same. Someone told me recently that even if you fall flat on your face, you are still moving forward. Hope you feel better soon! So glad we can encourage each other on our journeys!

  3. Falling down…and getting up again. Something we all do…some better than others. God is surely watching over you…an angel sent to work His miracles among us. hugs…for sharing…your reality. 🙂

  4. Cameron Von St. James said:

    Hi Tara,

    Thanks for sharing your story so bravely and honestly with us here. I was hoping to ask you a quick question about your blog, do you think you could send me an email when you see this? Thanks so much.

    Cameron
    cameronvsj@gmail(dot)com

  5. One of my favorite ways of hearing about this came from an Irish priest visiting a parish here. He said, Judith, keep on. And keep on keeping on.
    I was ready for the first sentence. It was the second sentence that amazed and inspired me.

  6. You’re awesome. Keep writing.

  7. […] In 1687, Sir Isaac Newton watched an apple fall from a tree and began developing his Universal Law of Gravitation. In the past 327 years, this theory for gravity has been tested time and time again. It’s been proven true with every experiment. I once saw on a stroke survivor t-shirt, “I didn’t fall, I was just testing the existence of gravity”. I now declare to test it when falling on my knees, my hands, my elbows and, most recently, my face. Generally, I fall once every six month or so. […]

Thanks for taking time to share your thoughts

Tag Cloud

