Overcoming obstacles with Optimism

Who are you?  When attempting to find this answer, maybe these quotes can help offer guidance.

“Whenever two people meet there are really six people present. There is each man as he sees himself, each man as the other person sees him and each man as he really is.” William James quotes (American Philosopher and Psychologist, leader of the philosophical movement of Pragmatism, 1842-1910)

 

“A man is like a novel: until the very last page you don’t know how it will end. Otherwise it wouldn’t be worth reading.” Yevgeny Zamyatin (Russian novelist, playwright, and satirist, 1884-1937)

 

 “My importance to the world is relatively small. On the other hand, my importance to myself is tremendous. I am all I have to work with, to play with, to suffer and to enjoy. It is not the eyes of others that I am wary of, but of my own. I do not intend to let myself down more than I can possibly help, and I find that the fewer illusions I have about myself or the world around me, the better company I am for myself.” Noel Coward

 

“If I try to be like him, who will be like me?” (Yiddish proverb)

 

IMG_0211

 

“I don’t know who my grandfather was; I am much more concerned to know what his grandson will be.”  Abraham Lincoln quotes (American 16th US President)

file0001737095225

Comments on: "Weekly Serving of Optimism: Quotes & Thoughts (Who Are You)" (6)

  1. Thanks for these beautiful quotes and pictures! Love finding new sources of inspiration and hadn’t heard most of these before 🙂

    • I am glad you found these inspirational. But, Arianna, I am even happier to have heard from you. I hope you are having a wonderful summer!

      Tara

      • Aww! I know it’s been too long. I am having a wonderful summer. Getting out there and enjoying the water and sunshine as much as I can. How’s your summer going?

        • Thanks for asking. It has been a wonderful summer. I’m getting extra time for new adventures, discovering things with my daughters. I wish I could freeze these days where my children still think I am wonderful and even have moments where they call me “cool”.

          Tara

  2. These really are wonderful quotes, and they are all unfamiliar to me, even the Yiddish proverb which I would have thought I would have come across.
    Thanks for a treasure trove, Tara!

Thanks for taking time to share your thoughts

Tag Cloud

