Overcoming obstacles with Optimism

With TV being a major player in society, do you watch shows and movies with your family? How do you cope with the characters? –Samantha Hil

 

CSI is no longer one of my favorite shows.  I never did watch a full episode of Desperate HousewivesThe Good Wife offers me no entertainment value whatsoever.  Which shows do I now tune into every week?  Psych and NCIS are great.  Call of the Wild Man is another favorite when I sit down with my daughters.

Yes, I enjoy a good medical drama.  Crime shows have always captured my interest.  But what is it about Psych and NCIS that keeps my attention when others can’t? Why do I no longer find any entertainment with CSI and Law & Order?

Prosopagnosia, or face blindness, caused this evolution in what I watch.  Understanding that my inability to remember a face developed seven years ago easily explains my current choice of favorite TV shows.  Shows I direct my attention to now have consistent and diverse cast members.  They have both males and females in leading roles.  Race varies among leading actors.  If there are two people of the same gender and race, their age difference makes them easily identifiable.  It’s also important the cast rarely includes guest stars.  While it is nice to have an occasional added character on a show, the rotating and unexpected characters usually leaves me wondering who someone was and which role they were playing.  Shows become confusing when you are not sure if it was this person shooting the gun or if this person is the cop we saw in the last scene.  More than once I have watched a show and lost interest within minutes because of my inability to identify who just walked across the screen.  For these reasons, I also find many movies difficult to follow. 

I will take a book any day over sitting in front of the television.  With a book, I can create my own images through written words.  Memorable words are always easier to follow than a screen of rotating unfamiliar faces.

Prosopagnosia awareness has recently increased due to media coverage and confessions of famous people such as Dr. Oliver Sacks in “The Mind’s Eye” and most recently Brad Pitt’s announcement of his condition.  I hope movie companies and television networks soon take notice of this disorder.  I would love to join the water cooler conversations about last week’s episode of Grey’s Anatomy.  However, when the characters all look the same to me, I am left with nothing to add to their conversation.  I won’t stand at the cooler and tell you about the trouble I had attempting to follow the story line, or about how many cast members lacked unique identifying characteristics.  Maybe I will interrupt and ask if anyone caught Big Bang Theory last week.  Or better yet, have you heard Pink’s new song?  Nate Ruess sings with her.  Did you know he is from the band Fun.? (And yes, Fun. does have a period as part of their name.)  I am still able to join in conversations with others regarding pop culture topics.  I just attempt to change the subject until I find something both you and I are familiar with and can talk about.

Comments on: "Question & Answer Week 1 – c" (5)

  1. I like that you have linked Pink’s song. I find that one inspirational in my relationship with my husband that is a TBI survivor. He is not broken just bent and we literally have to be hopeful and learn to love again! 🙂

    • How long ago did did your husband have his TBI? How are you you doing with the challenges?

      It is interesting how we do learn to live again. Our view of that “normal” life just evolves after awhile. It is still comfortable. It is still happy. It is just….. different. I am glad you have the hope to help pull you through.

      Isn’t that a great song though? I can’t tell you how many times it’s been played in our house lately.

      Tara

      • He had his accident in April 2012. I do not think we have adjusted yet. Some days are better than others. I never understood denial in the grieving process until now. There are still days I think I’m in denial that there is no old “normal”.

        Yes, and there are so many songs like that that inspire! I love music.

        • There was a “normal” and you find find a new one again when you are least looking for it. After all, that is when we usually find things, isn’t it?

          I am curious….What other songs inspire you? Maybe I should make a post on that very topic. What do you think?

          Tara

        • I think that would be great I was actually thinking of doing that too 🙂

Thanks for taking time to share your thoughts

Tag Cloud

