Overcoming obstacles with Optimism

I know a professor who often speaks of experiences he’s had.  These stories leave me entranced.  The adventures fascinate everyone who has the opportunity to listen.  He is from a smaller city yet has met some of the biggest names.  I asked a person who knew him how he accomplishes this.  I asked how it was he connected with all of these people and has been invited to participate in monumental projects.  She told me, “He answers his phone and the door any time someone calls or knocks.”

“Every wall is a door.”  –Ralph Waldo Emerson (American Poet, Lecturer and Essayist, 1803-1882)

Source: DuBoixMorguefile

This made me think.  How often do I not answer the door unsure of the strangers that may be there?  How often do I let the phone go to voice mail because I may be too busy to answer?  Maybe I need to be knocking on more doors.  My dreams are there.  My passion is there.  Now I just need to make sure I am not waiting for others to open doors for me.  There’s no need to stare at the wall when I know the door is there waiting for me to open it.  The knock is waiting for me to answer.

“Don’t follow your dreams;

Chase them.”

Unknown

Comments on: "Weekly Serving of Optimism: Quotes & Thoughts (Opening Doors)" (8)

  1. Great story and quote, Tara! I think you may be right: if one decides to look for opportunity ‘everywhere,’ perhaps one will find it!

    • I hope you’ve had some interesting opportunities lately. I need to stop over and see your blog tonight. Speaking of opportunities, what new music did your Sunday Spin offer me to learn about this week? I’m anxious to go and see.

      Tara

  2. […] week I posted about making sure you open doors when opportunity knocks.  The motivation for the post came because I recently answered a knock at my door I was nearly too […]

  3. Tara,

    I never thought much about those Knocks and Rings in that way. Next time the phone rings I will answer. I do hope it is Brad Pitt. I’m serious. It may be in my best interest to catch that knock at the door. It may be Publisher’s Clearing House. Who knows!
    You made a point that caused me to really give thought to opportunities presenting themselves in ways we may expect. I will definitely pass this along.
    Thanks

    Barb

    • I do hope the next call for you is Brad Pitt and knock is from Publisher’s Clearing House. It is amazing to think of who may be waiting for us to answer.

      Here is to the hope that someday the person waiting may help keep your dreams alive and growing bigger.

      Tara

  4. An interesting idea, somewhat counter to anything I’ve thought before.
    So it gives me seriously to think!
    Thank you.

    • After this past week, I realize there is an amazing amount of truth to these words. The knock I answered led to an incredible journey I’m deeply grateful I had the opportunity to experience .

      I look forward to hearing about the next time you answer that unexpected knock.

      Tara

Thanks for taking time to share your thoughts

Tag Cloud

