Overcoming obstacles with Optimism

As I was preparing my post last week, I came across a wonderful piece of wisdom and wanted to share it with you:

Success is…..

To laugh often and much; To win the respect of intelligent people and the affection of children; To earn the appreciation of honest critics and endure the betrayal of false friends; To appreciate beauty, to find the best in others; To leave the world a bit better, whether by a healthy child, a garden patch, or a redeemed social condition; To know even one life has breathed easier because you have lived. This is to have succeeded.

Ralph Waldo Emerson (1803 – 1882) American Essayist & Poet

Walking down the mountains

Overcoming Obstacles – Conquering Mountains

I commonly see Ralph Waldo Emerson credited for this quote.  However, I have also seen Bessie Anderson Stanley noted as the author.  Do you have any insight who this quote originally came from?

Comments on: "Weekly Serving of Optimism: Quotes & Thoughts (Defining Success)" (10)

  1. Reblogged this on BELIVEMORE and commented:
    Great piece………

  2. Searching for the Light said:

    Thank you, really liked this especially, “To leave the world a bit better, whether by a healthy child” and “To know even one life has breathed easier because you have lived. This is to have succeeded.” Something that is forgotten in this world where we seem to strive for ever better jobs, more money etc. where if we do not “succeed” at something we are made to feel a failure as a person. I shall try and remember this.

    • Yes, we do forget this in our world today. I think the mentality of “keeping up with the Joneses” and the fast pace of which we require ourselves to evolve allows little time for this definition of success. It is a wonderful idea of which we should strive to achieve. I, too, will hope to remember this more often and apply it to my life.

      Thank you for taking the time to leave your comment. I truly appreciate it.

      Tara

  3. Nice quote on success.
    I’m sorry I’m not sure either who gets the credit 🙂
    Thanks for sharing!

    • I will continue to look into it. Hopefully, I’ll figure it out soon. It is frustrating when I can’t find the answer to my questions quickly with search engines! What did we ever do before, Google or Bing or any of those?!?? :-0

      I hope you are having a great week. Thanks for stopping by!

      Tara

  4. Tara: Thank you so much for offering this quote! I have heard it before, but it has been a very, very long time and I’d forgotten all about it!

    I just love your postive outlook on life!

  5. Thanks for this post, especially during the economic times we live in!

  6. […] Weekly Serving of Optimism: Quotes & Thoughts (Defining Success) […]

Thanks for taking time to share your thoughts

Tag Cloud

