Overcoming obstacles with Optimism

“Nothing splendid has ever been achieved except by those who dared believe that something inside of them was superior to circumstance. “    Bruce Barton

This past week was filled with practice after practice.  There was a lot of extra time and effort spent in preparing for a test that meant a great deal to our daughters.

“It is only necessary to have courage, for strength without self-confidence is useless.”  Giacomo Casanova

This past week showed me, yet again, even though unpredicted obstacles may come our way there will be success if we have confidence that we can break through these obstacles.

Last weekend my daughters had their first belt test in Tae Kwon Do.  I now fully realize what my mom meant by saying it is harder to watch your kids compete than it is to compete yourself.  Even though I knew they had the test memorized, practiced and near perfect, I could not help but worry they would miss a step or forget everything as fear engulfed them.  I wanted them to taste success.

“Your chances of success in any undertaking can always be measured by your belief in yourself.”  Robert Collier quotes (American motivational author, 1885-1950)

They achieved this success.  They did not doubt their abilities at all.  Even when the boards were brought out the girls did not flinch.  This was the first time white belts received instruction on how to break a board.  My heart was racing and my hands were shaking.  Both of my daughters looked the tester straight in the eye and did not seem fazed.  I remain in awe of their self-confidence. They had no doubt the challenge could be overcome with a strong, fast fist and a slight, small kia (shout).  In a child’s eye, challenges can be overcome simply because they are there and, of course, you are supposed to break through challenges.

“That’s the real trouble with the world, too many people grow up.”

WALT DISNEY, attributed, The Quotable Walt Disney

Comments on: "Breaking Through Doubt" (6)

  1. What a beautiful post! And you must have been bursting with pride, Mom!!!!!

  2. WOW! That is so cool! I’ll bet you’re the only one prouder than the girls! It shows where determination and self-confidence can take you!

  3. That is really something! I would be proud, too. I think out of all the quotes the last onewas my favorite.

Thanks for taking time to share your thoughts

Tag Cloud

