Overcoming obstacles with Optimism

I admit, even when I am struggling, I am horrible at asking for help.  I like to believe I am independent enough to work and walk alone through any challenge life may deliver.  Heather, at Team Aidan’s blog, gave me an eye-opening reason to occasionally ask more people to take my hand.   “…Jen’s mom who held Aidan when I couldn’t. It should serve as a reminder that asking for help is really about giving someone an opportunity to be part of your life and that’s always the right thing to do.”      Please take time to visit her blog.  It is a journey that shows faith, hope and love.  The blog truly demonstrates that the greatest of these is love.

Yet, we need to never forget that it is our responsibility to reach out and help others.  Assist people on their path of finding strength to stand again.  “You give but little when you give of your possessions. It is when you give of yourself that you truly give.”   Kahlil Gibran    Lebanese Poet and Novelist

“How far you go in life depends on you being tender with the young, compassionate with the aged, sympathetic with the striving and tolerant of the weak and the strong. Because someday in life you will have been all of these.” George Washington Carver   American Educator, Scientist

Comments on: "Weekly Serving of Optimism: Famous Quotes and Thoughts" (6)

  1. Maggie said:

    Tara, thank you for your beautiful words. I have trouble walking up and down the bleachers when I go to watch my grandchildren play basketball or floor hockey, and my daughter kindly comes to take my hand and support me as I walk up. I have always felt embarrassed about this, but you give me a new way to think about it. Thank you so much.

    • Those bleachers intimidate me, too! 🙂 I am so glad you are able to enjoy watching your grandchildren play. Beyond anything else, those kids will always remember how much their grandma loved them. This memory is one of the greatest treasures of all.

      Thanks for stopping by Maggie. It meant a lot to see your kind comment on here tonight.

      Tara

  2. Thanking you so much for including my story. Faith, hope, and love….I’m so encouraged that this is the takeaway from my blog.

  3. I have heard before that allowing someone to help us is truly a gift to them, and that you deprive them of their desire to show their love. My husband has Alzheimer’s and I can see that there will come a time when I have to ask for help and accept it.

    This is a good topic. You made me think and maybe even get closer to the inevitable. : l

    • Having to ask for help AND accept it. Sometimes that is the true burden. I hope as you learn to do this, you will find a new peace with gathering the support from friends and loved ones. I sorry to bring the painful future to your present thoughts. I cannot begin to imagine the worries you and your husband face. Hugs to you Linda. Kind and pleasant thoughts and are being sent your way.

      Tara

Thanks for taking time to share your thoughts

Tag Cloud

