Overcoming obstacles with Optimism

Thank you to Ben Hill, John Riehl and the University of Iowa for creating this engaging video that helps tell my story.  I greatly appreciate your time and effort in helping me share my message of hope.

Take time to click the link, read the short story, watch the video and please share your thoughts:

How Are You? – Spectator – Monthly News for UI Alumni and Friends – The University of Iowa.

 

Comments on: "Video Interview of Prosopagnosia Patient -Spectator -The University of Iowa" (10)

  1. That’s incredible, Tara.
    Well, I already knew YOU were incredible, but together with the university people you’ve made a really fabulous video. And I think it achieves your goal in spades, to give people information, but above all, to give them hope.

    • I am thankful you had time to watch it! Thank you, thank you, thank you for your kind words! I greatly appreciate your support. It is always wonderful to have you stop by!

      The University took a lengthy interview I did with them last fall and created this informational segment. It is a piece I will treasure forever.

      Tara

  2. I love your smile and the sparkle in your eyes Tara! Those are inspiring but of course there is whole lot more beyond that. Now I’m walking *wink* Huggggssss to you 🙂

    • Hooray! I love the fact you are walking now! 🙂

      Rea, it is always a joy to find your kind words commenting my posts. Thank you for your ongoing support. It is very much appreciated.

      Tara

  3. Tara, I can’t help but be taken by three words that you used. One in the introductory message pointing us to the video. THat word is “Hope.” The second and third words sturck me when I read them, but unfortunately I can’t locate the reference now. The words were victim and survivor. You used them in opposition to each other. I believe you said that you didn’t want sympathy or to be considered a victim. You saw yourself as a survivor.
    Respecting your wishes, I do not view you with sympathetic eyes. However, I do view you as something more than a survivor. You are a conquer. You show how high the human spirit can soar.
    My words to you should not be viewed as advice, but more as an affirmation…Keep soaring, you show us the way. We can hope to do no better than follow your example.

    • I think you, yourself, have displayed very well what it is like to go from a victim to a survivor. I have learned a lot from the lessons you have taught with working around aphasia and overcoming invisible limitations. (Note: This is his page – http://byonaphasia.wordpress.com/ )

      Thank you for your kind words. I treasure them. Your kindness is very much appreciated!

      Tara

  4. This was a great video. You are a pretty lady, and you have an inner beauty that shines, through you, too. I am glad that you shared how your condition has helped you to develop things like patience…how it has helped you to be a patient mother.

    Theresa

  5. Bob Firanek said:

    I have face blindness as a result of an automobile accident in 1980. I am unable to decifer a cow from a horse, a squirrel from a rabbit, etc. Also, I cannot recognize objects in pictures. I would like to know if this is something that affects you.

    Thank you,

    • The inability to distinguish objects is not something I have to contend with. My limitations are to faces and remembering objects I cannot label with words. For example, I can remember the sunset was beautiful last night and it was stretched out far in the sky with pink and red. Yet, I cannot picture that image in my mind. There are too many details in a sunset that cannot be labeled with specific words. Anything auditory I can remember. I cannot remember any visual image.

      I am lucky to be involved with The University of Iowa’s amazing Neurological Patient Registry. Through that program I have not only helped science, but also succeeded in a much better understanding of my own condition. Now whenever I see an image – whether it be a squirrel or a rabbit – I attempt to self-talk as many words/details about the object into my mind before the image is lost forever.

      I hope this answer helps you a little. Have you sought medical advice to this condition? It would be interesting what a doctor would say about this. I can only imagine how frustrating it must be for you! Thank you for taking the time to read my blog and comment. I hope you know, that at least with faces, you are not alone.

      Tara

Thanks for taking time to share your thoughts

Tag Cloud

