Overcoming obstacles with Optimism

January 1, 2011 will soon be upon us.  Here comes the tradition so many people try to achieve year after year: The New Year’s Resolution.  Dream big.  Hope for large things. Be careful though to not set yourself up to be let down within the first month.

I do not remember the last resolution I made in January.  Too often, I am fiercely aware of the fact that these goals are not going to last in my mind.  I prefer to set smaller goals.  I prefer to be able to mark my achievements in smaller steps.

This year though….this year I am thinking of something entirely different.  How about I skip over the grand idea of a resolution, and I dream about a revolution?  This revolution that I plan: Turn the words that fill my life into everyday terms that people can understand.  Write about the hardship and hope that comes with living with different neurological conditions.  While being honest about the pain, sadness and frustrations I face in everyday life, I am determined to also explain that there is always a silver lining to the dark clouds.  I want to give people knowledge they need to see that scary things like being a young stroke patient and experiencing epilepsy can create havoc on one’s life.  Having face blindness and not recognizing the wonderful people you see every day can be challenging.  Yet, once these struggles have settled, there are blessings you can find that maybe had never before been sought.

I want to let people know that it is okay to dream.  It is okay to hurt.  And it is even good if you occasionally fall down.  Once you stand again, you will find the true strength that was hidden deep inside of you.

Join me as we enter 2011.  Tell me your dreams.  Comment below of your hopes for a simple resolution or a grand revolution.  Come along with me this year as we find that when we overcome obstacles with optimism everyone will be given the opportunity for finding strength to stand again.

Comments on: "No Resolution – This Year a Revolution" (7)

  1. Happy happy happy New Year to you!
    Your presence alone is inspiring, keep on living and loving!
    🙂

    • What a beautiful comment to read! Thank you so much for stopping by to read my post and taking the time to write. I look forward to looking at your site today to see the wisdom that your quote will bring me. Happy new year!

  2. Tara, I’m with you – I don’t make resolutions. For this year, I want to continue working on my personal “mission statement”: Be peace. True, some days I do this better than others – but at least I’m trying. 🙂 This is my aspiration for 2011.

  3. Stef,

    I think you offer a lot of peace through the smiles kiddo moments you share with everyone in your posts!

    Happy New Year!

  4. Graceful.Hope said:

    I loved this post. I was with you. I made no resolutions just plans. Not to let things get in my way. No more letting epilepsy define me or win anymore. Time for me wo win again! xx

    • Good for you! That is a great attitude. And, if I remember correctly, you don’t have “just plans”. I think I read in a recent post that you have fitness goals, photography skills to perfect and moving? You will be keeping quite busy creating a spectacular New Year. Enjoy every moment of it!

      Thanks so much for stopping by and saying hi!

      Tara

Thanks for taking time to share your thoughts

Tag Cloud

